GT Solar Announces ASF100 Advanced Sapphire Growth System

Merrimack, N.H. - GT Solar International, Inc. (NASDAQ: SOLR), a global provider of polysilicon production technology, and sapphire and silicon crystalline growth systems and materials for the solar, LED and other specialty markets, today announced the ASFTM100 advanced sapphire growth system.

Metal Wrap Through ready to go into Production: Solland Solars Sunweb Modules are one of the most effective Modules in the Premium Segment

Heerlen / Aachen - This week saw Solland Solar's innovative high performance modules based on Sunweb MWT successfully undergo testing for IEC certification. Initial success in sales has already been reported by the producer. The first projects in Great Britain as well as the domestic Dutch market have already been fitted out with Sunweb Modules.

IBC SOLAR launches Jura Solarparks in Upper Franconia

Bad Staffelstein - At a ground-breaking ceremony on June 17, the Bavarian Prime Minister Horst Seehofer symbolically launched construction works for the Jura Solarparks of IBC SOLAR, a German photovoltaic specialist.

Construction Completed of Worlds Largest HIT-equipped Tracking Solar Power Plant

Tokyo - SANYO Electric Co., Ltd. (SANYO), is pleased to announce the completion of the solar power plant in Torre Santa Susanna, southeast Italy, the world's largest tracking project utilizing SANYO's high-efficiency high-output HIT*1 solar modules.

Photovoltaic factory in Italy opens its doors

3Sun, the equal joint venture between Enel Green Power, Sharp and STMicroelectronics, inaugurated its innovative thin-film solar cell production today in Catania/Sicily. In attendance were the CEO of Enel, Fulvio Conti, Sharp Chairman Katsuhiko Machida, STMicroelectronics President and Chief Executive Officer Carlo Bozotti as well as political representatives of the region Sicily.

“Innovation motor” ISE celebrates 30 years

<b>30 years of top-flight solar research in Germany (left to right): Prof. Volker Wittwer (deputy institute director 1997-2009), Prof. Joachim Luther (institute director 1993-2006), Prof. Eicke Weber (institute director since 2006), discussion chairwoman Dr. Stefanie Seltmann, Prof. Adolf Goetzberger (institute founder and director 1981-1993), and Dr. Armin Räuber (deputy institute director 1981-1997).</b><br><br><i>Photo: Volker Buddensiek</i>

During a festive event, speakers paid testimony to the institute's often turbulent history to date. They recalled the arduous struggles of Prof.